top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

In Connection with all at Wishing Well Sanctuary


Have you ever experienced sanctuary?

Wishing Well Sanctuary is my favorite place to be!

I first experienced the sanctuary on a sunny August day back in 2013. I had heard about it from fellow Animal Rights Activists as a great place to go recharge after experiencing pain and suffering at a demo. At the sanctuary I could interact with happy at peace animals that had been rescued from a traumatic beginning. "Wishing Well Sanctuary is a centre for personal growth, inner peace, healing and joy." Located in Bradford just a mere 45 minutes from central Toronto a group of activists went for a tour.

On this tour I fell in love with the whole sanctuary. The animals of course as animals have all ways been a large part of my life ever since I was small. Growing up my favorite animal was a pig, maybe because it was pink but also they were super cute! But I had never got to experience a live happy pig before.

Not only was meeting the animals an amazing experience the atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing. The animals had no worries and so neither did I.

I continued to go for tours and events, and every time feeling the same peacefulness, a clam, at the sanctuary there was nothing else but sanctuary. WWS is home to 67 rescued "farmed" animals from a range of different unpleasant situations.

Like Yoda the pig who is a charming young man who arrived at Wishing Well Sanctuary on September 20, 2013 after falling off a truck in Quebec. He was likely on his way to a "finishing barn", where piglets are usually sent at the age of about six weeks to be raised for slaughter. Fortunately, he survived the fall with only minor injuries and was found near Brossard later that evening by Quebec provincial police, who came to his rescue. Wishing Well offered to take him in after hearing about his plight online from a posting with a plea to give him sanctuary. News of his rescue spread quickly, with mainstream media in Canada, the US, UK and Germany publicizing his narrow escape. Yoda is blessed with an enchanting personality that endears him to everyone he meets and we look forward to sharing a lifetime of love with him.

I have been lucky Enough to watch Yoda grow and gain his trust and friendship.

I have also been at the sanctuary to welcome several new family members like Leia, Bali and Kai. After many visits I pledged to do more and become a volunteer once a week, Saturday evening helping feed dinner and get everyone to bed. I have been a volunteer now for a year and I couldn't imagine not being a part of the sanctuary family. I get to help ensure all the animals on the sanctuary are given the best care possible. I try to attend all the tour days so I can be here to help answer questions people may have about the animals and tell stories about them too.

The other volunteers have become my extended family sharing the same passion and love for the WWS crew as I do.

A peace pole was raised at the inaugural Wishing Well Sanctuary Open House, held in May 2012. On it are inscribed the words May Peace Prevail On Earth in Braille, English, French, Ojibway, Sanskrit, Hebrew and paw prints. We are all connected! In connection with All is something to remember to everyday life. The choice we make will affect someone else. Do we know what the effects of our choices are? Some things are plain as day like not doing harm to others and living a vegan lifestyle is I believe the only way we can live in harmony with the world and it other inhabitants.

Thank you to my sanctuary family for always being there to help support each other through all our ups and downs.

(Photo from Ball Gowns and Boots - many people not here)

If your interested in becoming a volunteer at the sanctuary please fill out the application on the website and speak to Mona the Volunteer Coordinator.

Lastly I invite you to the March 13th Sanctuary tours. From March to November the Sanctuary has 2 tours a month, the Second Sunday of the month and Last Saturday.

Tour starts at 1230, please come for 1215 to sign waver before tour.

Tickets are $15 per person or $50 for a families of 4, kids under 2 are free

Please bring boots, as this time of year the paddocks are muddy, closed toed shoes are necessary.

Wishing Well Sanctuary's tour is meant to encourage people to visit and meet the delightful creatures who make up the Wishing Well family.

Light refreshments will be available to purchase. (Veggie Burgers and Water)

As always, for everyone's safety, please leave companion animals at home.

I hope to see you soon at Wishing Well Sanctuary

Summer 2015

Winter 2016


Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page